AASV Installs 2024 Officers

Dr. Angela Baysinger was installed as president of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians on February 27, 2024, during the association’s 55th Annual Meeting in Nashville, Tennessee. She succeeds Dr. William Hollis, who is now immediate past president. Dr. Locke Karriker has ascended to president-elect. The newly elected vice president is Dr. Rebecca Robbins.

AASV President Dr. Angela Baysinger (Missouri ’92) currently serves as the North American Animal Welfare Lead for all species for Merck Animal Health. Dr. Baysinger completed her undergraduate studies in animal science and her DVM (1992) at the University of Missouri. She received an MS in epidemiology from the University of Nebraska. Additionally, she received an MS in international animal welfare, ethics, and law in December of 2021 from the University of Edinburgh, partially funded by the AASV Alex Hogg Memorial Scholarship. Dr. Baysinger was honored with the AASV Meritorious Service Award in 2021 and delivered the prestigious Howard Dunne lecture in 2022. She has served on multiple AASV committees as a member and chair and on the AASV Board of Directors representing District 8.

When asked to comment on her thoughts about the future of AASV and her tenure as president, Dr. Baysinger said, “It is an honor to serve AASV as your President. AASV membership is comprised of veterinarians and scientists that eagerly take leadership roles within the swine industry. Therefore, with you as a leader, the swine industry will continue to evolve and AASV will support your leadership and the industry into the future.”

Dr. Baysinger lives near Bruning, Nebraska with her family.

AASV President-elect Dr. Locke Karriker (Mississippi State ’99) is the Director of the Swine Medicine Education Center and a Morrill Professor, holding the Dr Douglas and Ann Gustafson Professorship for Teaching Excellence in Veterinary Medicine in the Iowa State University Veterinary Diagnostic and Production Animal Medicine Department. Dr. Karriker has served the association as District 6 Director, co-chair of the Collegiate Activities Committee, member of the Program Planning Committee, member of the Pharmaceutical Issues Committee, member of the AASV-National Pork Board Task Force on Antimicrobial Resistance, and member of the Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria. He delivered the 2011 Howard Dunne Memorial Lecture and was honored with the AASV Howard Dunne Memorial Award in 2014.

AASV Vice President Dr. Rebecca Robbins (North Carolina State University ’09) previously provided veterinary services for two of the world’s largest integrated pork production companies and is now a health assurance veterinarian for Pig Improviement Company (PIC). She received her BS (2004), DVM (2009), and PhD (2016) from North Carolina State University. Dr. Robbins has served the association as a member of multiple AASV Annual Meeting Program Planning Committees, chair of the Pharmaceutical Issues Committee, and as AASV’s alternate representative on the American Veterinary Medicial Association’s Committee on Antimicrobials. She has served the broader swine indsutry as a member of several other committees and task forces led by the National Pork Board and Swine Health Information Center. She was honored with the Allen D. Leman Science in Practice award in 2018.

Commenting on her upcoming role as vice president, Dr. Robbins said, “As swine veterinarians, we are integral to protecting health, well-being, and food safety in the pork supply chain. The AASV delivers many benefits to its members including dissemination of peer-reviewed science in its journal, providing continuing education, and funding scholarships for students and practitioners. I look forward to serving the organization, strengthening the member benefits, and, by extension, ensuring the prosperity of the swine industry.”

Dr. Robbins lives in Amarillo, Texas with her husband, Andrew Brown, and their son, Grady. They are active members in their church, Saint Paul Methodist, and enjoy adventuring in the Panhandle.

AASV Past President Dr. William Hollis (Illinois ’96) is a partner and veterinarian of Carthage Veterinary Service and serves as the president of Professional Swine Management, the Carthage swine service management company. Dr. Hollis was named the AASV Swine Practitioner of the Year in 2019. He is a Pork Quality Assurance Plus Advisor, served on the National Pork Producers Council Animal Health Food Security Policy Committee, and served on the National Pork Board Swine Health Committee. He has served on the American Veterinary Medical Association House of Delegates representing AASV, and on the AASV Board of Directors representing District 5.