Merck Animal Health Announces 2017 Swine Veterinary Scholarship Recipients

Source: Merck Animal Health news release

With a long-standing commitment to the education of the next generation of veterinarians, Merck Animal Health today, in partnership with the American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation (AASVF) – the charitable arm of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians – announced the 2017 recipients of the AASVF/Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarships.

“Merck Animal Health recognizes the importance of ensuring that today’s veterinary students graduate with the skills they will need to maintain the optimal health of animals in their care, as the work they will do, simply put, will help feed the world,” said Joseph Roder, D.V.M., Director of Swine Technical Services, Merck Animal Health. “Feeding our growing population with healthy food is important – and we want to recognize and help support students like these outstanding recipients who are up to the challenge.”

“It is great when a company like Merck Animal Health places value on supporting veterinary students pursuing a career in swine medicine and production,” said Tom Burkgren, D.V.M., AASV Executive Director. “We deeply appreciate the company helping to elevate the AASVF mission of developing veterinary students for their role in the future of our industry.”

The recipients, who will each receive a $5,000 scholarship, are:
• Kayla Blake, Auburn University
• Jordan Gebhardt, Kansas State University
• Allison Knox, University of Illinois
• Chelsea Ruston, Iowa State University
• Brent Sexton, Iowa State University

The recipients were announced earlier today at the 48th Annual AASV Meeting in Denver, Colo. Second- and third-year veterinary students enrolled in American Veterinary Medical Association-accredited or recognized colleges of veterinary medicine in the United States, Canada, Mexico, South America and the Caribbean Islands are eligible. Learn more at