National Pork Producers Awards Two Purdue Students

The National Pork Producers Council has awarded scholarships to 10 college students who intend to pursue careers in the U.S. pork industry. The Lois Britt Memorial Pork Industry Scholarship program is sponsored by CME Group and the National Pork Industry Foundation and managed and administered by NPPC. The award was announced recently at NPPC’s annual business meeting, the National Pork Industry Forum. Two of this year’s winners are from Indiana:

  • Elizabeth Staggs, Purdue University

  • Keegan Sheiss, Purdue University

Ms. Staggs is a sophomore from Terre Haute studying Animal Science with an Agribusiness Concentration. Her future career goals are to work in sales and marketing at an animal pharmaceutical or nutrition company.

Mr. Sheiss is a senior from Delphi studying Management and Food & Agribusiness Management. Upon graduating in May 2023, he will be begin employment with Elanco Animal Health as a Swine Sales Representative.

The scholarship program was introduced in 1990 and later renamed in 2006 in memoriam of Lois Britt, former NPPC board director. A lifetime supporter of agriculture, Britt spent 34 years with the North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service and finished her career after 15 years with Murphy-Brown LLC (now Smithfield) doing public and government relations. She was inducted into the NPPC Pork Industry Hall of Fame and the North Carolina Pork Council Hall of Fame and was awarded the North Carolina 4-H Lifetime Achievement Award, among many other achievements.