IPPA Announces 2019 Master Pork Producers, Pork Partners


At the 2020 Iowa Pork Congress, the Iowa Pork Producers Association introduced the 2019 class of Master Pork Producers and Master Pork Partners.

A Master Pork Producer award denotes an individual’s or family’s excellence in pork production, as measured by their pork production statistics, their commitment to We Care® principles, and their contribution to their community. There are six We Care principles that outline a pig farmer’s responsibilities to uphold high standards for animal well-being, food safety, the environment, as well as support of their local community.

IPPA’s 78th class of Master Pork Producers includes eight pig farmers. They are:
Ben Reck, Winthrop, Buchanan County
Bruce Edwards and Kerry Edwards, Storm Lake, Buena Vista County
Andrew Perry, Aurelia, Cherokee County
Javan and Danielle Kruse, Hartley, Clay and O’Brien Counties
Ryan Tripp and Brent Tripp, Dows, Franklin County
Allan Schmidt, Holstein, Ida County
Nolan Kooiker, Doon, Lyon County
Bill and Joan Tentinger, Le Mars, Plymouth County

IPPA started the Master Pork Producer Award program in 1942 and has now named 1,492 Iowa pig farmers as Master Pork Producers.

IPPA created the Master Pork Partner Award in 2014 to recognize pork production company employees who have made positive impacts on pork production systems, even though they don’t have active daily roles at a specific production site. There were two categories added to the Partner Awards in 2019 to recognize other important partners in pig production. One of these awards is for veterinary care, the other for transportation.

The 2019 Master Pork Partners are:
Matt Zitelman, a Pipestone Systems manager near Winthrop, Buchanan County
Dr. Shamus Brown, DVM at Iowa Select Farms, Indianola, Warrant County
Ty Rosburg, an independent trucker at Rosburg Livestock, Charter Oak, Crawford County
All award winners are nominated by their peers and neighbors, and represent the diversity of Iowa’s pig farms. This production diversity helps maintain the strength of the industry and enables Iowa producers to compete successfully in the domestic and international commodity and niche markets.

The Iowa Pork Producers Association and Iowa State University Extension co-sponsor the Master Pork Producer program to demonstrate the character and breadth of Iowa pork production. Nominations for the 2020 Master Pork Program awards will open in May.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here