HOG Awards Made at the Iowa Football State Championships


Seven Iowa high school football players took home awards recognizing their play during the final games at the 2021 Iowa high school state football championships Nov. 18-19 at the UNI-Dome in Cedar Falls.

Hog of the Game (HOG) awards went to the outstanding offensive lineman in each of the championship games. The HOG awards are sponsored by the Iowa Pork Producers Association (IPPA) and awarded by the Iowa High School Sports Network (IHSSN).

HOG award winners were recognized for their strength and speed in creating opportunities for their teams to be successful.

“This award recognizes the often unsung linemen who are out front and helping their team be effective,” said IPPA President Dennis Liljedahl of Essex. “Just like Iowa’s pig farmers, these players work hard to create opportunities for their team and their communities to be successful.”

“The Hog of the Game award is a highlight of the football championships each year,” said Ric Silvestrini, IHSSN’s vice president of sales and marketing. “Through the IPPA’s longtime partnership with the Iowa High School Sports Network, we are able to recognize these outstanding student athletes, who battle in the trenches. Congratulations to the seven winners this year, and thanks again to the IPPA for its continued support of high school athletics.”

Iowa high school players who received the 2021 HOG awards are:

  • Gavyn Jessen of CAM High School in Anita, the winners of the 8-player tournament. Jessen is a junior and the son of Jared Jessen and Jean Jessen, Anita.
  • Eric Martinez, a junior at West Hancock High School in Britt, the winners of the Class A contest. Martinez, of Kanawha, is the son of Victor and Yuri Martinez.
  • Casey Trudo, a senior at Van Meter High School, the Class 1A tournament winners. Trudo is the son of Eric and Shonna Trudo, Van Meter.
  • Aaron Graves, a senior at Southeast Valley High School in Gowrie, the winner of the Class 2A tournament. Graves, who is from Dayton, is the son of Mark and Amber Graves.
  • Gunner Schmitz, a junior at Harlan Community High School, which won the Class 3A championship. Schmitz is the son of Brian and Gina Schmitz of Harlan.
  • Hunter Deyo, a senior at Lewis Central High School in Council Bluffs, the winners of the Class 4A title. Deyo is the son of Brian Deyo and Elizabeth Swanson, Council Bluffs.
  • Carson Campisi, a sophomore at Southeast Polk High School, Pleasant Hill, the Class 5A tournament winners. Campisi, from Pleasant Hill, is the son of Mike Campisi, Altoona, and Jodi Hoover, Pleasant Hill.