Merck Animal Health Furthers Commitment to Veterinary Medicine; Announces 2018 Swine Veterinary Scholarship Recipients


With a long-standing commitment to the education of the next generation of veterinarians, Merck Animal Health (known as MSD Animal Health outside the United States and Canada) today, in partnership with the American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation (AASVF) – the charitable arm of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians – announced the 2018 recipients of the AASVF/Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarships.

“Merck Animal Health recognizes that student debt is a concern for many veterinary students and is committed to helping ease this burden so veterinarians can focus on the optimal health of the animals in their care now and in the years to come,” said Joseph Roder, D.V.M., Director of Swine Technical Services, Merck Animal Health. “Through this program, we are reinforcing our long-standing commitment to the science of healthier animals and to the people who will help preserve that vision in the future.”

“It is great when a company like Merck Animal Health places value on supporting veterinary students pursuing a career in swine medicine and production,” said Tom Burkgren, D.V.M., AASV Executive Director. “We deeply appreciate the company helping to elevate the AASVF mission of developing veterinary students for their role in the future of our industry.”

The recipients, who will each receive a $5,000 scholarship, are:

    • Jacob Baker, Iowa State University
    • Kimberlee Baker, Iowa State University
    • Rachel Bardot, University of Missouri
    • Stephanie Betbeze, Lincoln Memorial University
    • Megan Bloemer, University of Illinois
    • Kayla Henness, University of Illinois
    • Evan Koep, Iowa State University
    • Marjorie Schleper, University of Minnesota
    • Joel Steckelberg, Iowa State University
    • Jonathan Tubbs, Auburn University


The recipients were announced earlier today at the 49th Annual AASV Meeting in San Diego, Calif. Second-and third-year students enrolled in American Veterinary Medical Association-accredited or recognized colleges of veterinary medicine in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, South America and the Caribbean Islands are eligible. Learn more at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here